About SHA » Accreditation and Governance

Accreditation and Governance

Buffalo Academy of the Sacred Heart is chartered by the Board of Regents of the State of New York and is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. The Academy is a member of the National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA), the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP), One Schoolhouse (formerly the Online School for Girls) and the Education Collaborative of Western New York (EdCo).

Buffalo Academy of the Sacred Heart is governed by a group of dedicated individuals who bring unique knowledge, experience and talents to their leadership roles to ensure that Sacred Heart Academy remains a healthy and vibrant community fulfilling its mission and vision every day.

Sole Member

Sisters of St. Francis of Penance and Christian Charity
Holy Name Province
Stella Niagara, New York

Board of Directors
Robert C. Beiswanger, Jr.
Janice M. Cheney ‘80
Jennifer M. Demert, Esq.
Carrie Fahey
Sr. Jo-Anne Grabowski, OSF '67
Margaret Buchanan Johnson '73
David Kersten
Khristian Powell King '03
Sr. Linda Lewandowski, OSF ‘70
Christine Licata '63
Walter Ludwig
Joan Horrigan Maira '77
Sr. Terri Miklitsch, OSF
Sr. Dorothy Mueller, OSF '60
Sr. Marygrace Polino, OSF 
Eileen Scannell, President
Marilyn Wittman '66
Administrative Council
Jennifer M. Demert, Esq., Head of School
Mary C. Ganey, Director of Admissions
Kathleen Grieco, Director of Finance
Barbara Rooney '74, Director of Athletics & Student Life
Michele Calandra, Director of Academics; Linda Cimusz, Director of Academics (interim)