Buffalo Academy of the Sacred Heart

Basketball

Recent Championships

Varsity Roster

JV "A" Roster

JV "B" Roster

2017-18 VARSITY BASKETBALL SCHEDULE

DATE

OPPONENT

LOCATION

RESULTS

click link for recaps

Fri. 12/1/17

6:45 PM

Penfield HS Home L  42 - 59

Tue. 12/5/17

6:30 PM

Lake Shore HS Lake Shore HS W  58 - 43

Sat. 12/9/17

12:00 PM

Williamsville North HS Wilson HS W  56 - 31

Tue. 12/12/17

6:30 PM

Frontier HS

Home

W 48 - 32

Thu. 12/14/17

6:30 PM

Franklinville HS Franklinville HS L  56 - 65

Mon. 12/18/17

6:30 PM

Cardinal O'Hara HS Home L  48 - 59

Fri. 12/22/17

6:30 PM

Our Lady of Mercy HS

Home

L  66 - 67

Thu. 12/28/17

6:30 PM

Art Dobson Tournament - Olmstead Home W  77 - 43

Fri. 12/29/17

6:30 PM

Art Dobson Tournament  - Clarence HS Home

W  83 - 42

Wed. 1/3/18

6:30 PM

Niagara Catholic * Home W  93 - 10

Sat. 1/6/18

1:00 PM

Bishop Kearney Bishop Kearney L  50 - 75

Mon. 1/8/18

7:00 PM

St. Mary's HS * St. Mary's HS W  57 - 40

Wed. 1/10/18

6:30 PM

Lockport HS Home W  63 - 23

Fri. 1/19/18

6:30 PM

Christian Central Academy * Home  

Tue. 1/23/18

6:00 PM

Nardin Academy * Villa Maria College  

Wed. 1/24/18

6:00 PM

Mt. Mercy Academy * Mt. Mercy Academy  

Sat. 1/27/18

2:30 PM

Kenmore West HS Home  

Wed. 1/31/18

7:30 PM

Williamsville South HS Williamsville South HS  

Thu. 2/1/18

6:30 PM

Nichols School * Home  

Mon. 2/5/18

6:30 PM

Park School * Home  

Tue. 2/6/18

6:30 PM

Buffalo Seminary * Home  

Fri. 2/9/18

6:30 PM

Mt. St. Mary Academy * Home  

Sat. 2/10/18

1:30 PM

Aquinas Institute Home  

Wed. 2/14/18

6:00 PM

Cardinal O'Hara HS * Cardinal O'Hara  

Wed. 2/21/18

TBA

MMHSAA Quarterfinals Villa Maria College  

Sun. 2/25/18

TBA

MMHSAA Semifinals Villa Maria College  

Fri. 3/2/18

TBA

MMHSAA Finals Villa Maria College  

Fri. 3/9/18

TBA

CHSAA Semifinals TBA  

Sat. 3/10/18

TBA

CHSAA Finals Fordham University  

       * League Games

 

2017-18 JV "A" BASKETBALL SCHEDULE 

DATE

OPPONENT

LOCATION

RESULTS

Fri. 12/1/17

5:15 PM  

Penfield HS Home L  30 - 63

Tue. 12/5/17

5:00 PM

Lake Shore HS Lake Shore HS W  21 - 11

Thu. 12/7/17

5:00 PM

Niagara Falls HS Home W  41 - 22

Tue. 12/12/17

5:00 PM

Frontier HS

Home

W  33 - 29

Thu. 12/14/17

5:00 PM

Franklinville HS Franklinville HS W  55 - 13

Mon. 12/18/17

5:00 PM

Cardinal O'Hara HS Home W 49 - 38

Fri. 12/22/17

5:00 PM

Our Lady of Mercy HS

Home

L  27 - 37

Thu. 12/28/17

3:30 PM

Art Dobson Tournament - Olmstead Home W  56 - 9

Fri. 12/29/17

5:00 PM

Art Dobson Tournament  - Clarence HS Home L  31 - 46

Wed. 1/3/18

5:00 PM

Niagara Catholic * Home W  48 - 13

Mon. 1/8/18

5:30 PM

St. Mary's HS * St. Mary's HS L  40 - 55

Wed. 1/10/18

5:00 PM

Lockport HS Home W  47 - 32

Wed. 1/17/18

4:30 PM

Williamsville North HS Home  

Mon. 1/22/18

6:30 PM

Wilson HS Home  

Tue. 1/23/18

4:30 PM

Nardin Academy * Villa Maria College  

Wed. 1/24/18

4:30 PM

Mt. Mercy Academy * Mt. Mercy Academy  

Sat. 1/27/18

1:00 PM

Kenmore West HS Home  

Wed. 1/31/18

6:00 PM

Williamsville South HS Williamsville South HS  

Fri. 2/9/18

5:00 PM

Mt. St. Mary Academy * Home  

Sat. 2/10/18

12:00 PM

Aquinas Institute Home  

Wed. 2/14/18

4:30 PM

Cardinal O'Hara HS * Cardinal O'Hara  

      * League Games

  

2017-18 JV "B" BASKETBALL SCHEDULE 

DATE

OPPONENT

LOCATION

RESULTS

Mon. 1/8/18

5:00 PM

Middle Early College Home W  31 - 18

Thu. 1/11/18

5:00 PM

St. Mary's HS St. Mary's L  9 - 30

Fri. 1/19/18

5:00 PM

Cardinal O'Hara HS Cardinal O'Hara HS  

Mon. 1/22/18

5:00 PM

John F. Kennedy HS Home  

Wed. 1/24/18

5:00 PM

Niagara Catholic Home  

Thu 1/25/18

5:00 PM

Middle Early College HS

MEC HS

2885 Main St.

 

Wed. 1/31/18

5:00 PM

Lewiston-Porter HS Home  

Wed. 2/14/18

4:30 PM

Mt. Mercy Academy Home  

  

Coaches

Varsity Head Coach:  Carrie Owens

                                                             

After a successful career as a player at D’Youville College, Ms. Owens was an assistant coach there for five years.  She transitioned to high school coaching in 2009 and coached at both North Tonawanda and Cleveland Hill HS.  While at Cleveland Hill, she led her team to a Sectional Class B-2 title in 2015.  Ms. Owens is a fourth grade teacher in the Buffalo Public School system.

Contact email: 48.cowensgmail.com48.cowensgmail.com

Amherst Bee article on Coach Owens

Varsity Assistant: Christina Healy '11

 

JV "A" Head Coach: Ronald Stepien

                                                            

Mr. Stepien is a Science Teacher at Sacred Heart teaching Chemistry and Physics.  He started his coaching career as the JV Coach at Sacred Heart.  Since then, he has coached at the Varsity level at a few area high schools and most recently was the Assistant Coach at an area Division III school.  Mr. Stepien is a graduate of Canisius College with a B.A. in Biochemistry and has a Masters Degree from both Buffalo State and Canisius College. 

Contact email: rstepiensacredheartacademy.orgrstepiensacredheartacademy.org

JV "A" Assistant:  Gina Ricotta  '07

 

JV "B" Head Coach: Kim Sendlak

Contact email: ksendlak 24gmail.comksendlak 24gmail.com