Buffalo Academy of the Sacred Heart



Sacred Heart Academy is governed by a group of dedicated individuals who bring unique knowledge, experience and talents to their leadership roles to ensure that SHA remains a healthy and vibrant community fulfilling its mission and vision every day.

Sole Member

Sisters of St. Francis of Penance and Christian Charity
Holy Name Province
Stella Niagara, New York

Board of Directors

  • James Biddle, Jr.
  • Mike Bradley
  • Josephine Capuana, Ph.D.
  • Jennifer M. Demert, Esq.
  • Susan Fortunato, '79
  • Diane Gianadda, OSF '65
  • Jo-Anne Grabowski, OSF '67, Secretary
  • Elizabeth Horrigan, ’64
  • Margaret Buchanan Johnson '73
  • Gina LaPlante '95
  • Walter Ludwig
  • Ann E. McDermott, OSF, MSW
  • David McNamara, Vice-president
  • Barbara Pfohl, OSF, ’56
  • Marygrace Polino, OSF
  • Rev. Richard Reina
  • Patricia Marino Smyton, '61, President
  • Michael Spychala, Treasurer
  • Ann Wegrzyn, '76
  • Edith Wyss, OSF

Administrative Council

  • Jennifer M. Demert, Esq., Head of School
  • Margaret Wietig, Director of Academic Analytics
  • Barbara Blood, Director of Curriculum and Instruction
  • Mary Ganey Cochrane, Director of Admissions
  • Tracy Reed, Director of Advancement
  • Linda Limina, Director of Finance
  • Jeanette Piscitello, Director of Student Services